





For more race results, schedule, and rules visit: www.ACE

Art Mitchell Memorial Enduro Chillicothe Enduro Riders Assoc. ACES Round 1 Chillicothe, Ohio March 25, 2012 By Heather Wilson

What started out as a cloudy Sunday morning, eventually turned into a warm, sunny race day in Chillicothe, Ohio,

A record number of rider entries were made, totaling 160. This was recorded as the second largest turnout besides the D-15 co-sanctioned Treaty City event in 2010 with approximately 175 riders.

There were new 20 riders to the ACES series present at the race, including a couple of long-distance travelers from Michigan.

The terrain consisted of two 40 mile loops with 11 sections.

Josh Gaitten (KTM) took the overall win in the Art Michell Memorial finishing ahead of Robbie Jenks (GAS) and Zach Klamfoth (KTM).

Gaitten and Jenks tied with a score of 13, but Gaitten beat Jenks by 87 seconds with the emergency check points.

Gaitten said once he got going, he felt good. "I had a blast riding with Ryan Slopko during his first enduro."

Klamfoth and Johnny Barber tied with scores of 14 but Klamfoth was able to pull out the third place spot over Barber by 27 seconds.

Overall A winner, Marty Kehlmeier (KTM), is a Vet A class rider and second year competitor in the ACES series. A score of 24 earned him the Overall A spot.

Overall B went to Ryan Slopko (YAM), an avid GNCC racer, but a first time enduro rider. Slopko proved his versatility on Sunday in the sport of off-road racing.

With 22 points dropped for the day, Slopko said the hardest part of being a firsttime enduro rider was "not knowing how to keep time. so I just followed Josh's [Gaitten] lead."

Scott Allen, a Michigan resident, commented that it was a "Fine event - the club and volunteers did a phenomenal job." He said a few of them drove down from Michigan for the ACES opener. "Sure glad we did we had a blast! We will be back," he commented.

"It is no wonder that Ohio produces many talented riders. Ohio riders must think they are riding on sandpaper when they come to Michigan," he commented.

It was a great opener to the 2012 ACES season. In addition to the Race Report. be sure to check out the new Bench Racing page with interviews and photos.

The Appalachian Championship Enduro Series (ACES) is a traditional time-keeping enduro series.

The season continues on April 15, at the Moonshine Enduro in New Straitsville, Ohio.

We would like to thank the following sponsors for contributing to our series and supporting our riders: **OSBURN SIGNS, KTM,** HUSQVARNA, EVS, EBC, **ENDURO ENGINEERING,** SCOTT, KENDA, MSR, **T&E NEWS, POINT VIEW** CYCLES, SMITH'S POWER SPORTS, CATON'S CYCLE CENTER, SPORT CYCLES, WHEELSPORTS, JM CYCLES AND OHIO MOTORCYCLE.



We didn't know backflips were a part of an enduro! Style points? -- We think so! photo by Steve Wheeler

ACES Round 1 Results:

- 1. Josh Gaitten (KTM)
- 2. Robbie Jenks (GAS)
- 3. Zach Klamfoth (KTM)
- 4. Johnny Barber (HSB)

- 1. Cody Meeks (KTM)
- 2. David Patterson (KTM)
- 3. Doug Kisor (KTM)

250A:

- 1. Tyler Chadwell (KTM)
- 2. Michael Jolly (HSQ)
- 3. Brian Hollingshead (KTM)
- 4. Colin Klier (KTM)

Open A:

- 1. Brian Rickard (KTM)
- 2. John Grimm (HON)
- 3. Robert Heinzerling (KTM)
- 4. Grant Smith (KTM)

Vet A:

- 1. Marty Kehlmeier (KTM)
- 2. Mark McGrath (KTM)
- 3. John Yerkey (KTM)
- 4. Kraig George (SUZ)

Sr. A:

- 1. Jeff Johnson (HSB)
- 2. Doug Rinehart (KTM)
- 3. Wayne Perdue (KTM)
- 4. Harvey Whitaker (GAS)

S.Sr. A:

- 1. Mark Lederle (KTM)
- 2. Wally Wilson (KTM)
- 3. Scott Klamfoth (KTM)
- 4. Robert McNeel (YAM)

- 1. Ryan Slopko (YAM)
- 2. Tristian Stumbo (KTM)
- 3. John Hardesty (KTM)
- 4. Matt Kemp (KAW)

250 B:

- 1. Andy Matheny (HON)
- 2. Vinnie Petrela (KTM)
- 3. Zac Thomas (KTM)
- 4. Zayne Watson (KAW)

Open B:

- 1. Adam Clark (KTM)
- 2. Jordan Collins (YAM)
- 3. Aaron Cooney (KTM)
- 4. Josh Mills (KTM)

Vet B:

- 1. John Bittner (HSQ)
- 2. David Vancuren (YAM)
- 3. Christopher Knight (GAS)
- 4. Trent Thomas (KTM)

- 1. Robert Gorst (KTM)
- 2. Keith Matheny (KTM)
- 3. Edward Snyder (KTM)
- 4. Chuck Freeze (KTM)

S.SR. B:

- 1. Mark Thomas (HSB)
- 2. Mark Best (KTM)
- 3. Kurt Haveri (KTM)
- 4. Gerald Hensley (YAM)

Open C:

- 1. Jade Smith (KTM)
- 2. Jeremy Bernhart (GAS)
- 3. Jason Laney (KTM)
- 4. Jason Jenkins (KTM)