





For more race results, schedule, and rules visit: www.ACES-RAC

Little Burr Enduro **Enduro Riders Association** ACES Round 7 McArthur, Ohio August 26, 2012 Story By: Steve Wheeler Layout By: Heather Wilson

Johnny Barber (HSB) showcased his Husaberg at the ACES banquet last January, and it seems he intends to bring it back this year sporting a #1 plate. After one of the driest summers on record had riders struggling with visibility, it was Barber alone at the top when the dust settled.

Trevor Kline (KTM) and Cary Eberts (KTM), along with Robbie Jenks (GAS), matched Barber's score through five checks, with Barber earning his eventual one point margin of victory by zeroing check six.

Nick Fahringer (HSB) returned to his Ohio roots and was the only other rider to match Barber's score at the check, but Nick's day was already ruined when he missed a turn due to the dust. As a result, Fahringer inadvertently picked up old arrows in the section, dropping eight points at check four while his competitors carded zeroes.

Barber ended the day at nine off, claiming his second victory this season, followed by Trevor Kline, Zach Klamfoth (KTM), Robbie Jenks, and Marty Kehlmeier (KTM) rounding out the top five.

In other A class action, Michael Jolly (HSB), rejuvenated with his move to the open class aboard a new Husaberg, has reeled off five straight wins to take a three point class lead.

Overall A winner, Marty

Kehlmeier (KTM), edged Mark McGrath (KTM) for both the Overall A and Vet A class wins. The two veteran riders find themselves battling every race for both class and Overall A honors. With only two rounds to go, it may be a case of he who laughs last.

Todd Decker (KTM) claimed his first Overall B victory. besting Vinnie Petrella (KTM) by 57 seconds on the emergency checks. Petrella and Decker were even until check ten, where Vinnie moved ahead by one. That lead didn't last long though, as Decker just beat the flip at check 12, turning a 2:59 to Petrella's 3:35, to gain back his point and take the lead on the tie breakers.

For many riders, heading to the next round in Athens, Ohio is simply another opportunity to zero in on that class win or enjoy some good trail as the season draws to an end.

For three ACES competitors, the focus may be a little more distant, as they are setting their sights on ISDE Gold in Germany. Barber has been selected to be part of the Wellard Team (with Jordan Brandt, and Fred Hoess). Australian based Wellard is a world leader in the production and distribution of livestock and grain and have chosen to support the three Americans in an effort to win the club title.

ACES competitors Jolly and Klamfoth will also benefit from Wellard's support, as they will provide support to all Team USA riders headed to Germany.

The ACES organization wishes Barber, Klamfoth, and Jolly well in Germany and

ACES Round 7 Results:

- 1. Johnny Barber (HSB)
- 2. Trevor Kline (KTM)
- 3. Zach Klamfoth (KTM)
- 4. Robbie Jenks (GAS)

200A:

- 1. Shane Sims (KTM)
- 2. Cody Meeks (KTM)

250A:

- 1. Tyler Chadwell (KTM)
- 2. Nathan Bidwell (KTM)
- 3. Colin Klier (KTM)
- 4. Matt Hatten (YAM)

Open A:

- 1. Michael Jolly (HSB)
- 2. Brian Rickard (KTM)
- 3. Joe Uhrig (KTM)
- 4. John Grimm (HON)

Vet A:

- 1. Marty Kehlmeier (KTM)
- 2. Mark McGrath (KTM)
- 3. Jeremy Pelaston (GAS)
- 4. Derek Scheffel (KTM)

would like to thank Wellard for their support.

The Appalachian Championship Enduro Series (ACES) is a traditional timekeeping enduro series.

Our 2012 season continues September 9th in Athens, Ohio, at the Athens Motorcycle Club's Milk Run Enduro.

We would like to thank the following sponsors for contributing to the growth of our series and supporting our riders: FLY, KENDA, KTM, MSR, HUSQVARNA, ENDURO ENGINEERING, T&E NEWS, OSBURN SIGNS, POINT VIEW CYCLES. SMITH'S POWER SPORTS, SPORT CYCLES, CLINTON **COUNTY MOTORSPORTS.** WESTERN POWER SPORTS, CATON'S CYCLE CENTER, WHEELSPORTS, JM CYCLES AND OHIO MOTORCYCLE.

Sr. A:

- 1. Todd Ghearing (KTM)
- 2. Wayne Perdue (KTM)
- 3. Jeff Johnson (HUS)
- 4. Dan Wolfe (KAW)

S.Sr. A:

- 1. Scott Klamfoth (KTM)
- 2. Karl Fahringer (KTM)
- 3. Norm Into (HON)
- 4. Dan Ford (YAM)

200 B:

- 1. Ryan Slopko (KTM)
- 2. Tristian Stumbo (KTM)
- 3. Brad Graves (KTM)
- 4. Nick Fisher (KTM)

250 B:

- 1. Vinnie Petrella (KTM)
- 2. Zac Thomas (GAS)
- 3. Austin Spencer (KTM)
- 4. Garrett Wilson (KTM)

Open B:

- 1. Todd Decker (KTM)
- 2. Jordan Collins (YAM)
- 3. Aaron Cooney (KTM)
- 4. Adam Clark (KTM)

Vet B:

- 1. John Bittener (HSB)
- 2. Trent Gardner (KTM)
- 3. Christopher Knight (GAS)
- 4. Trent Thompson (KTM)

<u>Sr. B:</u>

- 1. Chris Ray (KTM)
- 2. Edward Snyder (KTM)
- 3. Kenny Hoyle (KTM)
- 4. Chuck Freeze (KTM)

S.SR. B:

- 1. Mark Thomas (KTM)
- 2. Stephen Matheny (HSB)

Masters B:

- 1. Thomas Kelly
- 2. Chip Smith (KTM)
- 3. Larry Watkins (KTM)
- 4. Larry Rice

Open C:

- 1. Jeff Bowling (KTM)
- 2. Michael Nutter (KTM)
- 3. Scott Clayton (HUS)
- 4. Shad Wonders (KTM)

Schoolboy C:

- 1. Cody Hudnall (KTM)
- 2. Kelby Kisor (KTM)